Engineering alumnus Kelly Ortberg (BS 1982 in mechanical engineering), chairman, president and chief executive officer of Rockwell Collins, a global leader in aviation and high-integrity solutions, and a member of the University of Iowa College of Engineering's Distinguished Engineering Alumni Academy, has won a Glassdoor Employees’ Choice Award
Memorial services will be held July 6 in Tallahassee, FL, for C. J. "Marty" Chen, former professor and departmental executive officer of mechanical engineering at the University of Iowa. Chen died June 2, 2017. He was 80. Chen taught at the University of Iowa for 25 years, and eventually served as the department head from 1982-1992.
Three University of Iowa undergraduate students have earned scholarships from Women in Science and Engineering (WiSE). Laura Hult, a junior in global health studies, and Melissa Adrian, a sophomore in statistics and mathematics, each received the $1,500 Carol Fethke WiSE Scholarship.
Khalid Algharrawi, doctoral candidate in chemical and biochemical engineering, has received the 2016 University of Iowa Research Foundation Inventor Award for his research project on “Methods for Production of 7-methylxanthne from Caffeine and Theobromine via Metabolic Engineering of Escherichia coli Strain BL21 (DE3).”
Johnson County leaders and other area officials on Wednesday learned about ongoing research at the University of Iowa's driving simulator and had a chance to take a look inside its newest test vehicle: a 2017 Tesla Model S.


Subscribe to Articles