Six Engineering Students Earn Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Honors

Six College of Engineering student-athletes are among 42 from the University of Iowa who have been honored by the Big Ten Conference with Distinguished Scholar Awards.

They are Anthony Gregorio, a senior from Palatine, IL, majoring in mechanical engineering, for men's cross country; Maverick Hovey, a senior from Eden Prairie, MN, majoring in mechanical engineering, for men's swimming and diving; Aubree Larson, a sophomore from Ankeny, IA, majoring in industrial engineering for women's soccer; Sarah Mazur, a senior from La Grange, IL, majoring in electrical engineering, for women's soccer; Patrick Rhoads, a senior in civil engineering from Kansas City, MO, for wrestling; and Samantha Wagner, a senior from Marion, IA, majoring in biomedical engineering, for women's swimming and diving.

Among the Iowa honorees, Gregorio, Masur, and Hovey maintained a perfect 4.0 grade point average during the 2015-16 academic term.

Big Ten faculty representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. The recipients must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution and have a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year, excluding summer school.

For more on the student-athletes, go to